My Old Kentucky Library Conference

I was invited to speak at the 2012 Kentucky Library Association / Kentucky School Media Association Joint Conference.  On Thursday, September 20th, I will be presenting my session, “Taking the Fear and Loathing Out of Legal Research.”  While my session won’t be a trippy, psychedelic romp in the style of Hunter S. Thompson, it will be informative and (I hope) entertaining for those in attendance.

Here is the “official” session description from the conference program:

“Trying to find a statute or understand a simple procedure of law can often times leave a researcher or patron in a dizzying state of confusion.  Take a peek inside the world of a legal librarian to not only learn what they do, but how they do it.  This session will focus on utilizing free and low-cost legal resources, both online and in print.  You will come away with a basic understanding of how to navigate legal research waters and a list of reliable resources.”

Since my audience will be mostly school and public librarians, this will be a very basic introduction to the glamorous world of law librarianship!  (Shhh, don’t tell them it’s not really glamorous. Just play along. Be cool, people.)  I’m excited to tell them about what we do and to spread a little knowledge about legal research.  I am finally getting the chance to actually BE a Library Sherpa, like my slogan, “Your guide up a mountain of information!”

Wish me luck.  (Yes, of course I’m nervous.)  So, Bluegrass State, break out the bourbon and the Modjeskas…the Sherpa is going to Kentucky!

Leave a Reply

