There can only be one Librarians Live-Tweeting a Movie

With a commanding 60% of the vote, the 1986 film “Highlander” will be the focus of snark Tweeted by librarians on Saturday, May 18. A brief description of the film from IMDB.com, “An immortal Scottish swordsman must confront the last of his immortal opponent, a murderously brutal barbarian who lusts for the fabled “Prize”.”

So, now what?

1. Secure a physical copy or a way to view the film online.  For example, in the U.S., the film is available through Amazon Instant Video as well as Netflix.  In the U.K., the DVD is on sale through Amazon.co.uk for a mere £3! For our Australian friends, The Nile appears to have copies on sale as well. Whichever way you prefer to get a copy of the film is up to you. Just make sure that it’s this version from 1986.

2. On Saturday, May 18th at the designated time (see #3) hit “play.” It is useful if you cue up the film so that it will play right when the opening credits begin. Otherwise, you will fall behind if you have previews or adverts to watch first.

3. The designated time on Saturday, May 18th will be as follows:
Sydney 23:00 / Perth 21:00 / London 14:00 / New York 09:00 / Vancouver 06:00
This is different than our usual starting time because our Australian friends want to be a part of the fun!
If your time zone is not listed, please refer to http://time.is/compare

4. Tweet your special brand of librarian snark and make sure to use #lib1 (that’s L I B and the number one). [Get it, “there can only be one.”] General guidelines for Tweets are to keep it clean and classy. Save the snarky comments for the film and not at each other. This has never been a problem, but just a note for any newbies to be cool. I cannot emphasize enough to use #lib1 so we can all see the snark.

5. Hilarity, mirth and merriment will ensue as we live-Tweet the film.

6. Keeping with the Scottish theme of the film, “bonus points” for any Scottish snacks you may enjoy during the film. (By “bonus points” I just mean bragging rights or at least the smugness of having clever snacks.)

That’s all there is to “Librarians Live-Tweeting a Movie.” It’s a fun way to have a long-distance group activity. Welcome to the newcomers, we hope you enjoy the show!

 

2 thoughts on “There can only be one Librarians Live-Tweeting a Movie

  1. Pingback: Smoked salmon fishcakes | FoodieNelly's Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s