Tuesdays With Motivation – 2 February 2016: Changes

For those of you paying attention, I did indeed miss a “Tuesdays With Motivation” entry last week. But, it was for a good reason. I was very busy launching my new business, Sherpa Intelligence LLCYour guide up a mountain of information.

This is a huge change for me. It means leaving the comfort of a good job I’ve had for 7 and a half years with a great employer. I will be an independent information professional and carving out my new path. The reception I received from my librarian colleagues when I made my announcement has been full of excitement and encouragement. Some of them even calling me or messaging me privately to tell me how brave I am, that they would never have the courage to make such a dramatic change in their lives.

Making this leap didn’t seem so scary after I thought it through. I took a long, hard look at the state of my profession, my industry, and my own needs. Then, I wondered what took me so long.

I still don’t know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
And every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet

What I previously thought was making me happy professionally, just wasn’t anymore. Then, a combination of planning, hard work, support, luck and networking brought me to the day that I made my resignation official.

Change must be contagious. Among those messages of support from friends, colleagues and acquaintances have also been statements about the changes they now felt empowered to make in their own lives. I’m happy to be a catalyst for positive change in other people’s lives, even though that was never my intention.

You still have eleven months left in 2016. Do you want to keep your course, or is there a change you’d like to make?

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes

Of course, I don’t mean any disrespect by chopping apart the lyrics to “Changes,” but these passage speak to me with their own meaning.

Find your change, or ch-ch-ch-ch-changes.

As for me and my new professional endeavor? Well, David Bowie said it best, “I don’t know where I’m going from here, but I promise it won’t be boring.”

#RIPStarman

2 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Motivation – 2 February 2016: Changes

  1. Pingback: Tuesdays With Motivation – 23 February 2016: Assertive – Library Sherpa

  2. Pingback: Tuesdays With Motivation – 8 March 2016: Passion – Library Sherpa

Leave a Reply

